The
following
Product
Information
is for
Information
purposes only.
Ingredient
formulations
may change and you
will not be
notified.
Please verify
G-F status
with
manufacturer.

back to Celiac Canada

Schneiders

GLUTEN FREE PRODUCT LIST

Thanks to James Cran of Ontario for this submission,

-----Original Message-----
From: Consumers Schneiders [mailto:consumer@schneiderfoods.ca]
Sent: December 1, 2003 10:09 AM
Subject: RE: Gluten-Free

Thank you for your email.   The information provided on the website, is no longer completely accurate.

Because of the nature of our facility, where the mixing of dry ingredients containing allergens is in the same proximity as the processing lines or where we have a limited number of blenders for the raw ingredients, it is impossible for us to guarantee that our products are 100% free of any allergens that, while not in a given product, are used in the facility.  The size and layout of the facility does not allow for dedicated mixing areas or production lines which is the only way we can guarantee no cross contact. Every precaution is taken in order to prevent the possibility of cross-contamination, however, trace amounts may occur.

Reading the list of ingredients is still the most reliable way to determine the presence or absence of an added gluten source.  Here are some guidelines you can use when shopping for Schneider meat products:

 a) "flour" listed alone always means "wheat flour".  Any other flour source will be listed as such, eg., corn flour or rice flour.  NOTE: "toasted wheat crumbs" and "cracker crumbs" are also gluten sources.

 b) "starch" or "modified starch" is "corn starch".  Any other starch used will be declared by its source eg., potato starch.

 c) we rarely use "hydrolyzed vegetable proteins", but when we do, they must be listed as such and cannot be hidden under the "spice" declaration.  The sources can be soy, corn, wheat or canola.

As we have been updating our packaging we have, in accordance with government recommendations, also included the source of the hydrolyzed vegetable protein when used.

We hope this information will be of help to you.  If you have any other questions, please do not hesitate to contact us.

This is the past statement provided in 2001
Thanks to jmaltest of Quebec .

  Thank you for your email in which you requested information on any gluten free products that Schneiders manufacturers.  With over 3000 products, it would be virtually impossible for me to provide you with a detailed list of every product that is gluten-free.  However, I will try to provide you with some guidelines you can use in future grocery shopping expeditions.

  Currently our ‘fat free’ and ‘ light’ wieners, as well as our Red Hots and Juicy Jumbo wieners are gluten-free. On the other hand, our Bologna, many of our "fresh" and smoked sausages such as Mini Sizzlers, Smoked Pork Sausage and Pepperoni contain wheat flour or toasted wheat crumbs, so they would not qualify as "gluten-free". Several of our sliced meats are also gluten-free.  Our company consciously tries to formulate "gluten-free" products wherever possible.  Please note that our gluten free products are not produced on dedicated lines.  Every precaution is taken in order to prevent the possibility of cross-contamination, however, trace amounts may occur.   Reading the list of ingredients is still the most reliable way to determine the presence or absence of a gluten source.  Here are some guidelines you can use when shopping for Schneider meat products:         
 a) "flour" listed alone always means "wheat flour".  Any other flour source will be listed as such, eg., corn flour or rice flour.  NOTE: "toasted wheat crumbs" and "cracker crumbs" are also gluten sources.          
b) "starch" or "modified starch" is "corn starch".  Any other starch used will be declared by its source eg., potato starch.         
c) we rarely use "hydrolyzed vegetable proteins", but when we do, they must be listed as such and cannot be hidden under the "spice" declaration.  
The sources can be soy, corn,  wheat or canola.  As we have been updating our packaging we have, in accordance with government recommendations, also included the source of the hydrolyzed vegetable protein when used.   I trust this information will be of help to you.  If you have any other questions, please do not hesitate to contact us.
www.schneiders.ca

updated Jan 2004

www.penny.ca

Canada Product info

USA Product info

GF Travel

Back to Celiac-canada