is for
purposes only.
may change and you
will not be
Please verify
G-F status

back to Celiac Canada

Kraft Canada


Choosing Gluten-Free Foods
This information about label reading is designed to provide tips for choosing gluten-free foods and is for people with diagnosed gluten intolerance.

Gluten is part of the protein found in certain grains. It is comprised of gliadin and glutenin and is present in wheat, barley and rye. Products and ingredients made from these grains, such as flours and starches, also contain gluten. Oats have a related protein that is similar to gluten.
Gluten Intolerance

Certain people cannot properly digest and metabolize gluten due to a genetic condition called celiac disease. The gliadin component of gluten is problematic for these individuals. In the United States, an estimated 3 million people (about 0.8% of the population) are affected. It is recommended that those diagnosed with celiac disease follow a gluten-free, gliadin-free diet for life.

We understand how important it is for people who have been medically diagnosed with gluten sensitivity to have accurate information about foods to help them make informed choices and plan their meals. Our policy for all Kraft products, including Oscar Mayer and Nabisco brands, is to list gluten-containing ingredients in the ingredient statement on the package label.

Unfortunately, we don't have any plans to reprint a gluten list in the future. To ensure we provide the most up-to-date information, we advise our consumers to check the ingredient line on the package to determine if there is a gluten source in the product. If the package does not already state a source of gluten (such as wheat flour), and you are concerned about a specific ingredient in a product, please contact our Consumer Relations staff and they would be happy to verify its gluten status for you. You can contact them by using this form. 

updated April 2010

Canada Product info

USA Product info

GF Travel

Back to Celiac-canada